Janeen A. Kimble is named the 2019 Bexley Educator of the Year

Bexley Middle School Math teacher Janeen A. Kimble is the 2019 Glick Family Bexley Educator of the Year.  The award is presented annually to a Bexley educator whose leadership, dedication, extraordinary achievements and commitment to the classroom and the community have made a difference in children’s lives. Sponsored annually by the Bexley Education Foundation, the award is funded by the Glick Family Endowment for the BEF at the Columbus Jewish Foundation.

Mrs. Kimble was surprised on April 26 in her classroom at Bexley Middle School by students, staff and BEF board members who announced her selection as the Glick Family Bexley Educator of the Year. On May 8, Mrs. Kimble was recognized publicly and presented with a $1,000 cash award and an engraved, commemorative crystal apple at the Bexley Education Foundation’s Annual Meeting/Celebration of the Arts event.

In nominating Mrs. Kimble for the award, colleagues, administrators and students describe her as a role model to both staff and students because of her work ethic, deep compassion and caring and the high expectations she sets for herself and others. She will do “whatever it takes” to ensure that students succeed, including coming in early or staying late to work one-on-one with students, and working on weekends and over school breaks. Because of her devotion, she has earned the respect and the love of her students who know that she will push them to be the best they can be both in and outside of the classroom.

Ms. Kimble is well-known for using humor and to create an environment where students want to learn. With her jokes, math-themed t-shirts and in-class games she “establishes a strong rapport with her students and builds natural relationships.” In a letter of support for Ms. Kimble’s nomination, a former student and the “Self-Appointed President of the Mrs. Kimble Fan Club”, described Ms. Kimble’s kindness and the fact that “she won’t give up” and noted “she has a huge smile that can brighten anyone’s day.”

Among her teaching colleagues, Ms. Kimble is recognized as an outstanding educator who is quick to take on new challenges, solve problems and embrace change, “because she loves teaching in general and especially math.”  She also shines as a mentor and leader, having served in a variety of formal and informal leadership roles over the years. Her guidance, support and encouragement have helped many Bexley Middle School teachers succeed in the often-challenging middle school environment.

Ms. Kimble’s singular devotion to Bexley Middle School is evident in the many ways she goes above and beyond, whether it is volunteering to supervise middle students during lunch or organizing the student-led carnival for the South Sudan community service project.

With over 20 years on the Bexley Middle School Faculty, Ms. Kimble has passionately served the students and teachers who make up this middle school community. She remains a life-long learner who will never rest and “will always evolve to be the best and create the highest quality learning experiences for her students.”

The selection committee for this year’s Educator of the Year Award was chaired by BEF Board member Drew Stark and included members of the BEF Board of Governors and representatives from Capital University, and the community at large. Past recipients of the Educator of the Year award include Marge Galloway, Jeff Schneider, Jim Tatman, Karen Haylor, Donna Taylor, Ken Stewart, Scott Logsdon, Carole Ennis, Eric Acton, Terry Black, Molly McCarrick, Sonja Hutchison, Rose Blanchard, Lisa Viney, Linda Kelley, Amy Johnston Blosser, Amy Dunn, Michael Featherstone, Julie Horger, Michelle Hipsley, Rebecca Rhinehart and Dr. Scott King-Owen.